Checking Back In

Sorry for my unannounced hiatus from the blogging world. Last Sunday through Wednesday I was house sitting for a professor and watching his 2 cats and 1 dog. I had full ambitions of blogging, photographing, and being super productive. Most of the days were rainy with come-and-go clouds, so those plans were traded in for relaxation, Netflix, and lots of Redbox. I watched Apollo 18 (cannot say I’ll ever feel the same way about rocks again), Bucky Larson (I have cheesy guy humor when it comes to movies and I’m proud of it), and We Need to Talk About Kevin (this furthered my reason for not wanting kids, lest I push out the son/daughter of Satan). I got hooked on Breaking Bad and watched 10 episodes of Pretty Little Liars in one day, and I must admit it is my new favorite show.

Employed, academic, tied down, go-go-go Jocellyn from 2 months back would have stuck her nose up at such sloth behavior. Jocellyn right now is admitting the week of laziness was needed and a-okay. I’ve been dealing with some friend business that has been making me sad, but the time to just chill and veg out has helped me realize the situation I’m in, that I do have other great friends and I’m not alone in this tiny city, even though I’ve felt that way for most of the month. I must include a personal shout out to miss Laura P. for letting me call her through the blubbering and sputtering; decade long friendship is pretty awesome.  I dealt with some anxiety (forgot how much that sucked), feelings of uncertainty, and after this past weekend I’m feeling a lot better about where I am and more sure of where I want to be these next few weeks, which leads me to my next endeavor.

One thing I need to do is start (okay, okay, for the millionth time) working out again. I’ve built a workout schedule that centers around the areas I want to work on—booty and abs, baby, booty and abs. I spent several afternoons searching Youtube videos to find the “personalities” I wanted to follow. There are some people that are great to watch, but the type of workouts they employ are either too intense or repetitive for my body.  I’ve also decided I’m going to pick up light running again. Last summer I was into it, but not doing it consistently enough and thus getting injured. Plus, I was concerned it was hurting my yoga practice. Well, it has been a year of no running and I’m only a few centimeters closer to getting into lotus , so I figure a bit of cardio isn’t going to hurt me. I’m going to be running 1 mile a day 5-6 days a week. Last summer I was running around 3-3.5 miles at a time. However, I was only making it out once and week and, as stated above, haphazardly. So now I’ll be running less distance at once, still getting in some cardio, but covering more distance per week. There is a track at the local high school, so I’ll be off the concrete and it’ll be a nice morning routine where I can be alone and, as the yogis say, set an intention for the day. I’m figuring once my shins have gotten accustomed to the running, I can start working on sprints, and maybe even dedicate one day to doing hills (lord only knows Burlington has enough of those!)  1 mile doesn’t seem that exciting or monumental, but I’ve come to accept that right now in my life I’m not a 5k girl, nor do I want to be one.

My break from reality was unexpected and highly needed, but I’m excited to be back with you all.

Peel away this weekend and start Monday off fresh and new ❤

Jocellyn

Leave a Reply

