Groggy Mornings and Tasty Evenings

Last night I went out hard. No, I went out extremely hard. So hard that I woke up at 10:30 still plastered. Ugh, went my stomach. Grr, went my head. How did I use to live this way freshman year? I dialed Chris from the living room (yup, I was that pathetic) and offered him $1 to make me something to eat. He didn’t seem to keen on the idea, so I had to take matters into my own drunken hands: happy drunk at night is a delight. Still drunk in the morning? Everyone take warning. I rolled out of bed, got some toast in the belly, some Advil in as well, and went back to sleep in a mad attempt to sober up enough to make it to the beach. If a hangover isn’t the most perfect metaphor for Newton’s Third Law then I don’t know what is.

After some sun, fresh air, and ample amounts of water, I finally started to feel hungry, which is a good thing as I haven’t had much of an appetite these past few days. Tonight I took some south of the border inspiration and had a Mexican version of breakfast for dinner: re-fried beans, ½ an avocado, some steak slices cooked in balsamic, scrambled eggs, and homemade salsa. I’m still patting my belly and smiling in gastro-satisfaction.

The salsa was really easy to make, fresh, and light. Salsa, much like gazpacho, is one of those recipes you can really tinker with to suit your taste buds.  I cut up a roma tomato, a little bit of red onion, a glove of garlic, tossed it all in a little bit of olive oil, splash of red wine vinegar, and finally I sprinkled a spoonful of chia seeds on top. I made this first and let it sit in the fridge for awhile to let the flavors mix. In fact, I just took a brief writing break to try some, since it has had even more time to mix and mingle, and it’s absolutely divine.

Where the magic happens.

Hold up! Once you cut open an avocado it starts to turn brown and unappealing looking. What does one do with the leftover avocado half? Simple: you make yourself a delicious smoothie.

Berry-cado Smoothie

½ an avocado

1 banana

Milk or milk substitute

1-2 handfuls of frozen berries (I used raspberries)

Cut up the avocado, banana, and add to the blender. Then add in your milk. Right now I’m trying out Lactaid milk. Feel free to use any other dairy substitute as well. I admit I don’t measure out my milk. I’ve been making smoothies for a long time and know how much liquid to add so that I have a small mason jar sized drink. I know, me writing out recipes is mildly funny since I’m not much for measuring. But eyeball it. Do you want it thicker? Do you want it a little runnier? Start out small and keep adding (you can giveth, but you cannot taketh away—only God can do that!) until you reach a desired amount.

If you have a cheap blender, give the mixture a few pulses before adding in the berries, especially if you are using the frozen variety. If you’ve never used avocado in your smoothies before, you’ll be surprised by how thick just ½ of one will make your drink. Pour it into a glass and enjoy!

Peel Away ❤

Jocellyn

Leave a Reply

