Poolside Yoga

I took my own advice and had a pool side rendezvous with my yoga practice this afternoon. It was nice and hot and sunny. Pictures first and then I led myself through a gentle flow. I really wanted to make a video but my camera batteries were low and my charger is packed away in some random box back in Montpelier.

 

I really like this pose, but it wasn’t always that way. Whenever I used to see people—okay, mainly girls—do this pose I would roll my eyes and go “stop with the sezzy!” You just cannot help but look like a sexy mermaid. Oh yes, notice our pug Buffy photo bombing.  This isn’t the last time you’ll see her.

 

Today was not a good day for handstanding, alas. Buffy doesn’t seem impressed

 

Oh firefly. I remember when I was first learning how to do this posture a few years ago. I wanted it so badly. Now I love settling into it during Primary Series. Someday I want to do the other variation when you drop your butt lower and bring your toes up to the sky.

Living on the edge and upside down! I want that to be the title of my book on arm balances and inversions, and I think this picture captures that idea pretty darn well. Just playing around in full wheel.

I was inspired by Noelle Beaugureau to try this out. And now to work it into a flowing sequence!

 

Peel Away ❤

Jocellyn

 

Ps: A funny story, because you know I love telling them. Well, my parents opened the pool a few days ago, and the bottom is still a little icky. I was helping my mom prep the brush when she said this:

“hold the head [of the brush] underwater until the bubbles stop.”

“It sounds like we are drowning someone in the backyard!”

“SHHH! You don’t want the neighbors to know were connected to the Mafia.”

“Clearly were getting the low paying jobs since we don’t have a pool boy.”

 

Gotta love family

3 thoughts on “Poolside Yoga

  1. Hi fellow Yogi,

    Do you have a story of healing or transformation through yoga that you’d like to share with the world? The Yoga Diaries is now accepting submissions.

    http://theyogadiaries.net/

    We invite you to share your story.

    We believe now more than ever the world needs to hear about the healing power of yoga. Please help us to spread the light…and the healing.

    Namaste,
    The Yoga Diaries

    • When I started I could barely sit in pigeon. Your body with open in amazing ways and when you least expect you’ll be like “I’m in a splits!” or “I’m in a forearm stand!”
      Good luck with your yoga practice 🙂

Leave a Reply

