Dear Snow White: Come Clean My Apartment!

Our kitchen is a disaster zone. Not having a dishwasher makes life extremely difficult, and if we don’t stay on top of the dishes, which we generally don’t, we have an hour’s worth of washing and drying ahead of us. Oh the joys of cooking on a regular basis! There weren’t too many dishes and pots to clean today, but I noticed some fruit stains on the counter top and the microwave was in dire need of a scrubbing. I was totally freaking out over the stains, because Chris and I move out of this apartment in 10 days, and the last thing we want is to get charged for some frivolous stain removable. I’m a big fan of Seventh Generation cleaners, but the stain was unrelenting! I was panicking and in need of a solution. I think we all know what search engine I turned to….

Thankfully I had some baking soda and lemon juice concentrate lying around so I could tackle this raspberry aftermath.

Stain Buster

Pour some lemon juice (fresh or concentrate) on the afflicting section

Let sit for 2 minutes

Sprinkle baking soda on top of the lemon juice; fizzle, fizzle, fizzle

Let sit for 2 minutes

Wipe it all down and be amazed!

 

Next was the microwave. No one likes cleaning it. I remember a few years ago seeing this cool product that you put in your microwave. It was like a popcorn bag. It would get larger, excrete some sort of cleaning solution that would cling to the walls, and then you’d wipe everything down with ease. Now, I’m no sucker. Generally when there is a really good stain/crust removing cleaning product on T.V. there is a much cheaper, homemade way to take care of the situation. Don’t even try to pander down to my consumer loving soul!

Make My Life 20x Easier Buster

I poured ½ Apple Cider Vinegar into a bowl with ½ a cup of water. I put the bowl in the microwave for 3 minutes. I took out the (extremely hot bowl) and put it in the kitchen sink (don’t pour it down the drain yet!) and used an old shirt to take the old food off the sides and top of the microwave. Easy peasy. The water and cider created a nice film on the surfaces and everything came off without the need of excessive elbow grease. I also used some of the mixture for a final scrub down.

Is there anything unconventional you use when cleaning around the house/apartment/”apartment style dorm” (as Dom Mazzetti would say @ 2:10)

Peel Away ❤

Jocellyn

 

Leave a Reply

