Sippin’ in Style

Truth: you gotta look cute when you’re going to the bar. For the past few years I’ve been slowly stock piling outfits I knew would come in handy when I turned 21. This number has been biding its time in the closet. I wore it a few nights ago and felt fantastic!

Top- United Colors of Benetton ❤ (GW $3.50)

Hot Shorts- American Apparel ($22)

Tights- No idea! Less than $3?

Leg Warmers- This random new good brand from the Goodwill ($3.50)

Boots- Chadwicks (GW $3.50)

Jacket- I bought this down south at a popular chain of stores we don’t have up here. If Forever21 and H&M had a baby, that would be this store ($40)

Necklace- B.a.d-a.s.s (GW $1.50)

Let’s work our way in, shall we? I love, love, love this jacket. This is the type of jacket you can wear with all black and look super tough, or you can wear it with a frilly pink top to balance out the daintiness. It’s not real leather, but its good fake leather. The ¾ length sleeve is unique, though not always so great in the winter.

I bought these jersey spandex hot shorts from American Apparel when I needed something comfy for a 9 hour rave.  Yes, the store is pricey for plain, cotton items, but honestly the clothes do last a long time. I have a jersey top I got there back in sophomore year of high school and it’s still looking good. I will say, however,  their super thin leggings are not worth the money. I ripped a pair a few months back. Thankfully, I had gotten them at the Goodwill, or else I would have been insanely surly for spending so much.  But back to the shorts, they are really comfy and if you throw on some tights you can take them from electronic festival to nighttime. The one thing about A.A clothes is they are realllllly unforgiving. One should never shop there after eating a burrito if one wants to walk out with any self esteem.

This top is pretty swell as well. It’s actually really long and just barely covers the cheekies. It has a slit up the side and is really fun to wear with leggings. I had to do a pretty intense tuck in job to make sure no bunching would show through the shorts (please don’t read this sentence as a standalone…) It likes to fall off my shoulder a lot. No need to buy a strapless bra! Just let the strap fall down as well. Shoulder is sexy!

 

As any New England-er knows, the weather can be a real hindrance to fashion.  Does one look cute or does one freeze? These leg warmers come in super handy on cold nights. I can wear them up high when I walk to the bar and scrunch them down before I go in.

One thing I will never, ever, ever, ever, ever wear out to the bars is heels. This great comedian Steve Byrne has a hilarious skit about girls going out to the bars in their stilettos. It ends with the club let out looking like a thriller music video because the girls cannot walk right in their shoes. Admit it, ladies, even our most comfy heels are really only comfy for 30 standing-minutes max, and unless you practice walking around drunk in your heels, you’ll probably look unnaturally robotic or just sloooopay! Plus, walking home with your heels in hand is just…disgraceful. Wear comfy boots that have a teensy bit of heel, but won’t leave you falling on your booty or sauntering like a new born giraffe.

 

(Not the skit about the shoes, but just as funny!)

 

I’m generally not into huge statement pieces. When I wear jewelry it’s usually small and humble.  But sometimes you have to bring out the big guns—pow!  I think this necklace speaks for itself.

 

 

Does anyone have a go to bar outfit that never lets them down?

Peel Away ❤

Jocellyn

Leave a Reply

