Fresh to Death and Dressed to Digress

Happy New Years everyone!!!!

I skated into 2012. Literally. The streets were so icy in Burlington I had to walk almost a mile downhill on the grass. I was praying to all sorts of embarrassment gods to take pity on me. Apparently, it worked. Continuing on with the body image series, today I’m going to discuss dressing well and the immediate changes you’ll feel when you’re out and about in public.

I’m going to slap it down real hard and real fast. If you are 20 years old it is no longer appropriate to wear baggy boyfriend-esque sweats to class.

Credit: Collegefashion.net

Especially if it’s a 1230! Sweats are what you do Freshman year as you walk around town proudly displaying your college. I get it. The prints were cute and colorful, and, lyke, omg the teacher should be impressed I made it to my Friday class after a ragin’ Thirsty Thursday. Passive-aggressiveness aside, by sophomore year you should be trying to make yourself presentable for class. I wouldn’t say I’m a hardcore fashionista, I adore clothes but I’m way to0 broke to develop a designer habit that isn’t second hand (thank you Goodwill job), but I appreciate how good clothes and dressing well can make you look and feel great.

For starters, what you wear tells the world the level of respect you have for yourself. It sounds kind of harsh, but it’s true. You probably don’t feel too happy with yourself or your choices if your schlepping to class in sweat pants because you were too hung over to bother with clothes. And I totally understand the need to dress sexy sometimes—don’t all girls?—but there is a line, and a pretty obvious one at that, between classy sexy and trashy sexy. If your entire wardrobe is overly cleavage bearing tops then you’re sending a message that you only want to be known for you assets. And I can say this with confidence because, regrettably, in high school I was that girl and I couldn’t possibly figure out why boys couldn’t respect me outside of physical relationships. Well, I sure didn’t act or dress like I respected myself, so why should they? Cold hard truths. Have some respect for yourself!

Senior year: This dress should never have been bought!

What you wear also sets the mood. If you’re going to class in sweat pants you’re immediately in sleepy-time mode, which obviously isn’t conducive for learning. A teacher will  notice if you take the time to get dressed to come to their class. It shows them you care about how they perceive you in a pseudo-professional setting. Plus, you’re just prepping yourself for life after college where you actually have to dress professionally all the time. Don’t you think you’ll feel more confident going to job interviews if you’re already used to dressing to the nines compared to other people who are just getting the hang of it? You’ll look like you’ve been doing this your whole life and they’ll look like kids playing dress up in their parents slightly too large clothes.

The good news is, is that dressing respectably and fashionably doesn’t mean dressing in one particular way. You can still maintain your style. Here some tips.

Be honest with your body type: If you have stallion thighs, runners calves, and big hips then skinny jeans might not be your thing. The only reason my very non waif-like thighs get away with it is because I have zero pelvis. I think Chris has wider hips than I do! But at the same time I know that my calves (well, entire lower body) have absolutely no business being in ultra-skinny jeans like Cheap Monday’s. Even if the style is in, you won’t look hot if your body type isn’t meant for it.

Find your style and stick with it: I’m the type of gal that rarely strays from dark colors. I feel comfortable in then. People always tell me how lucky I am with my dark skin tone that I can wear yellows, oranges, and pinks without getting washed out, but I just don’t feel comfortable in them. Red is the brightest I go. If I had it my way I’d be living in France where everyone wears all black. I adore wild tribal prints, like the kind you find at Urban Outfitters, but whenever I wear them they just don’t seem me and I immediately feel uncomfortable. You can admire styles but not wear them.

Go Classy Comfy: So I admit I poop all over the sweat pant look, but that doesn’t mean I dislike comfort. I just have a (not so secret) weapon…LEGGINGS! I realize people are either for leggings or against them, but if you want comfort then a pair of thick black leggings with a cardigan and nice top will do the trick. Life gets even better if you add a warm circle scarf. But make sure you buy quality leggings. Those $12 ones are tempting, but will rip really fast. I’m a huge fan of leggings from Express. I got a pair for $30 when I was going into my senior year of high school and they’re still going strong almost 4 years later. Thick leggings also won’t be see-through. Woo, baby, I have seen so many thongs, butt cheeks, and embarrassing granny panties from girls who don’t realize they’re giving a free show; shame on their friends for not saying anything.

Sophia from Modern Family. Well, at least she has a very nice derriere

Wear clothes that fit: Don’t be trying to squeeze yourself into jeans that no longer fit you. You aren’t going to look sexy with a muffin top and you’ll be wildly self conscious. Donate snug clothing to second hand stores if they haven’t worked out in over a year. Do away with the  “maybe if I lose a few pounds I can slip into them again,” mentality, because if you don’t you’ll just feel worse. Besides, wouldn’t you want to treat yourself to new clothes after reshaping your body instead of slipping back into your old duds?

We've all been there. Let's not return!

With the New Year finally here go peel into your closet and decide what you still love or no longer need.

❤ Jocellyn

Leave a Reply

