As promised: Here is what I ate for the day.

Breakfast

1 egg

I usually I’d have another, but we only had two left, so I was a nice girlfriend and left one for the boy…Of course he ate something else!

About 10 pieces of Watermelon

I love the stuff! It’s so sweet and refreshing. I even went so far as to bring a half-watermelon (rind and all!) to the beach with me this past summer. I know its sooooo black stereotype, but it definitely beats out grape soda and fried chicken 😉 Someone buy me this! I digress…

Snack

Fage Greek Yogurt.

In my opinion this is one of the best Greek yogurts on the American market. Sadly, the market has decided that as well and the price is astronomical. I only get it for special occasions, and I thought that going to work @ 9am on a day I didn’t have exams fit the bill. Fage is great because the fruit is separate from the yogurt, so you can add is as much or as little as your heart (more like sweet tooth) desires.

Mesquite Chips.

Yeah, it wasn’t the best choice, but I could tell my unusually small breakfast was going to catch up with me in the form of a raging headache. It was either that or candy.

Lunch

Slice of Cheese Pizza.

 I know, I know, I shouldn’t be eating gluten, but a little here and a little there doesn’t seem to bother me.

Assorted Berry Cup.

 If Watermelon is my love then Price Chopper’s Berry Cups are my secret affair.  It’s beyond satisfying to eat .79 pounds of strategically layered blueberries, strawberries, raspberries, and blackberries in a sitting. I was sufficiently happy.

Snack #2

Finished off the rest of my chips.

Definitely glad I didn’t buy a candy bar. Generally my snacks are fruits or veggies, but today I had to improvise

Dinner

Burgers!

You’re probably thinking “who the hell is this girl dictating healthy eating and noshing on pizza and burgers in one day?” I admit, this isn’t my most shining dietary moment, but Wednesdays in Burlington means ½ off burger nights at The Scuffer. Red meat is something I rarely crave, but it feels nice to get some every now and then. If it makes you feel any better I turned down the flourless chocolate cake. Okay. I’ll be real. It was totally due to the $6 cost.

 

Post Workout Snack

A banana!

Since I didn’t sling around any weights I didn’t feel the need to drink a protein shake. During the summer I feel in love with EAS Chocolate Protein Shakes. You can definitely find healthier powdered proteins (generally anything that isn’t flavored), but this one mixes well and is quite tasty. I usually add a banana to it. Even if I’m not drinking it to bulk up like Ahhhnold,  I notice I’m not nearly as sore the next day.

These two posts are fine examples that no one is perfect with their exercise or their diet. Do I normally eat burgers? Nope. Do I normally have a better breakfast? Oh for sure! But life isn’t always ideal and you need to learn how to roll with the punches as best as you can.  Today that meant getting chips instead of going across the street and getting a Reese’s Cup; It’s sad when the people know what you are going to buy and say “getting your fix today? “ :-p It also means accepting that the world isn’t going to end if you nibble on a few less than holy foods. Tomorrow is another day and with it I will address cravings and ways to combat them.

Peel Away ❤

Jocellyn

Leave a Reply

