I came, I saw, I conquered this semester.

I must apologize profusely for my absence the past few days. I should have given you all a heads up that this past week was going to be a busy one with getting 3 assignments in on top of my usual workload. But that is done for the most part, and I have managed to maintain my sanity! Some great food developments occurred this past week. Despite the entire hullabaloo* I was able to maintain my usual eating schedule and even managed to have some fun in the kitchen with 2 new meals. At the beginning of the week I made a recipe from the well-known chef Jamie Oliver. I had a 4 pound chicken and let it roast in a pot of milk , lemon zest, and herbs for about 2 hours. I’m well aware that the costs of organic are typically higher than conventional, but I was shocked to see that the average roaster chicken was $4 compared to the $12 organic! As someone who stopped eating meat for awhile due to ethical reasons (the next post will be about why I started eating meat again) it was really hard to buy the cheaper one. I could only imagine the type of slaughter house the chicken came from, but since it was the first time trying the recipe I didn’t want to spend a lot of money if I didn’t like it or if I messed up.

 

It’s very true that as Americans we are not used to seeing dead animals in their true form. We buy fish already filleted and chicken & beef in slices. Thanksgiving is probably the one time of year we deal with a whole carcass. Handling the bird was icky and awkward, not to mention I was totally grossed out having to retrieve the giblet bag from its insides. The recipe, which could feed four, easily yielded enough leftovers for several lunches. I definitely messed something up in the recipe, though. Everyone raved about it, but I found it to be so-so. I used a four pound chicken instead of the suggested three pounds, and even though I added more cooking time I think that is what made it not so flavorful. I will say it was quite moist (and that’s the first and last time you’ll ever see that word on my blog) which is far more desirable than overly dry. Here’s the recipe. This is a great meal to make at the beginning of the week because you don’t have to do anything except minimally prep it and wait for the roasting to finish, which leaves plenty of time to do homework or other activities. As someone who’s usually in the kitchen juggling a pot and two pans, it was a relief to kick back.

I redeemed myself the next night by making a fabulous dish I pulled off the fantastic healthy living blog by Brittany Mullins called Eating Bird Food. I strongly suggest you check it out, especially if you are a vegetarian or vegan. The meal was Hot Garlic Shrimp and Asparagus over a bed of rice. Chris doesn’t like asparagus, as it makes his pee smell (quick fact: do you know that the reason some people smell asparagus in their urine and some people don’t all comes down to genetics?—lucky me!), so I used green beans instead.

“Ingredients

  • 1  T  olive oil
  • 2 1/2  cups  (1-inch) sliced asparagus (about 1 pound)
  • 5 garlic cloves
  • 1/2  t  salt
  • 1 – 2  t  crushed red pepper
  • 1/4  teaspoon  freshly ground black pepper
  • 14-20 Shrimp
  • 1  cup vegetable broth
  • 2 T of lemon juice
  • 1 cup prepared Brown Rice

Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add asparagus, garlic, salt, and peppers; cook for 2 minutes, stirring frequently. Add shrimp, and cook for 4 minutes, stirring frequently.

Stir in broth and juice; bring to a boil. Remove from heat; serve with brown rice or other grain.”

Incredibly Simple. Incredibly Delicious

I’m not a huge fan of spicy foods, so I didn’t use any crushed pepper, instead adding an extra clove of garlic; we love the stuff! To be honest I didn’t have high hopes for this meal. I thought it would be decent, but a little bland. Thankfully I was incredibly wrong. The dish was so flavorful and filling. The sauce left over was absolutely delicious. This is definitely a recipe to add to my cook book and whip out on a regular basic. Thanks Brittany!

As we approach exams remember to get proper sleep and maintain your diet. It can be really easy to avoid eating healthy and have wings and pizza delivered to your apartment or dorm room. Take the time, usually less than an hour, to prepare something good and filling for you to eat. If you live in a dorm save the money you might use on booze and buy a few healthy meals at a local store. City Market if Burlington, VT was wonderful grilled salmon, veggie, and rice meals ready to microwave. You’ll feel much better afterward and your mind will be sharper.

Peel Away ❤

Jocellyn

Leave a Reply

