Fish in the Sea. And my belly

I think it’s time to give you guys some insight to some of the things I eat. Last night I made a dinner I was quite proud of. There is only one recipe that I’ve made up from scratch, it’s quite a challenging thing to do, but recently I have started tinkering with recipes to make them my own. This mainly happens because I’m missing some ingredients. If what you need isn’t key then feel free to play around with stuff you already have in your kitchen. For example, I’ve been really into glazes for meat and fish lately and one of the recipes called for orange marmalade. I didn’t have any, so instead I substituted in some fruit chutney I’d just bought. The outcome was spectacular. Moral of the story? Don’t turn away from creating a meal if you don’t have all the ingredients listed.

So what did I have last night?

Delish

I had some frozen raspberries that were just begging to me married to with a glaze for salmon. I’m very partial to honey and balsamic over my seafood, so I Googled some key phrases: raspberry and honey glazed salmon. Extremely difficult, right? The first link to pop up was a recipe for honey and ginger glazed salmon with a spicy raspberry mango salsa. Immediately I regretted eating my mango at work, but it was not the time to get down on myself! Despite all of gingers health benefits, I really cannot stand the taste and commenced tweaking the original recipe:

  • 3 – 6 oz. salmon fillets
  • 2 Tbls. Honey- check! Tip: if you ever need to measure honey, spray the measuring spoons or cups with PAM so it doesn’t stick as much.
  • 1 Tbls. minced fresh ginger– no place in my kitchen!
  • 1 Tbls. Indonesian soy sauce- I used regular soy sauce
  • 1 tsp. minced garlic– I love garlic. But I was rushing to go to a party and I forgot to chop some in L Oh well, always next time
  • juice of 1 lime- bottled lime juice is fine J
  • a big pinch of salt- check!
  • I also improvised and added a splash of balsamic vinegar

I set the oven to 400 F, per recipe’s orders, and lined a baking sheet with tin foil. I absolutely love using foil in my baking sheets/pans because it means no scrubbing dishes. I got the scales off the fish with my filet knife. You can search YouTube for filleting tutorials. I drizzled the sauce, a combination of all the ingredients above, onto the fish. After that I put some raspberries on top and popped the pan in the oven for 17 minutes, though I think 15, like the recipe suggested, would have sufficed. Typically I would have made some rice, but I wasn’t feeling particularly hungry so a side of veggie medley was all I needed. Bon appetite! It met the Chris approval, so all was good.  Think of a recipe you want to try, perhaps a restaurant delight you’ve want to recreate in your kitchen, and set aside a night.

Peel away<3

Jocellyn

Leave a Reply

